This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Vanity Remover 1.5

Rating:        Based on 5 ratings
Reviewed:  5 reviews
Downloads: 221561
Released: Oct 27, 2009
Updated: Nov 7, 2009 by Svish
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application Vanity Remover.exe
application, 33K, uploaded Oct 28, 2009 - 221561 downloads

Release Notes

I have tested it on Windows 7 64-bit and Windows Vista. I have also run it successfully on Windows under Mono, so technically I think it should run on Linux as well, but haven't gotten that tested yet (let me know if you have :-)

It is written it in C# and requires .Net Framework 3.5. On Windows 7 at least, I think that should already be installed, but on XP you might need to install it. On XP you might also need to install the latest service pack (which you should have done long ago anyways).

Issues and bugs

If you find any, please don't tell me in a review with a bad rating. That is just unfair and wrong. Use the Issue Tracker which is made for this instead and post a new issue there. That way I will be able to reply and so on.

Again, in bold: Use the Issue Tracker if you find any problems. Not the review feature!

Changelog

1.5
  • You can now drag and drop a folder onto the executable and it will open up with that folder as initial path. Isn't that just fantastic, or what??

1.4
  • Otherwise some various refactoring has of course occurred in the code base.

1.3
  • No longer crashing when trying to read a folder with no access.
  • Changed the icons and made the application icon show up in the task bar.
  • The cleaning process can now be cancelled.
  • When finished, it will report how many folders were scanned and deleted.
  • Code base has been refactored quite a bit.
  • TFS bindings have been broken (I've started using subversion instead).

1.2
  • Smaller changes to the UI.
  • Some fixing here and there.
  • Removed some unused references.

1.1
  • Fixed a stupid error in 1.0.

1.0
  • First released version of the program! (And apparently it was a bit buggy...)

Reviews for this release

     
I love it. It's simple, it's small, it's awesome.
by Barefoot_Moni on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:50 PM
     
Found via Free Download A Day - nice little utility If you are considering enhancements maybe a logfile of which folders are being processed and deleted could be an option ?
by DippyGirl on Feb 15, 2010 at 10:12 AM
     
Love it, I've been wanting this for awhile. I have one must update and one want update. :) 1. able to use command line so I scan schedule task to do this on a certain folder at certain times. 2. build in a scheduler. Having 1. would be great and get the job done having 2 would be awesome. Thanks!
by dskimberlin on Nov 9, 2009 at 5:24 PM
     
I encountered a problem when running the exe file. The file does not run on my Win XP Pro Sp2 computer. Do I need to install any .net or service packs?
by bugmenot2 on Nov 2, 2009 at 7:14 PM
     
gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
by shanmuganathand on Oct 31, 2009 at 2:24 AM